"Alvar Aalto"

2014 WMF / Knoll Modernism Prize Winner

2014 WMF / Knoll Modernism Prize Winner

World Monuments Fund ( WMF ) announced that it will award its 2014 World Monuments Fund / Knoll Modernism Prize to the Finnish Committee for the Restoration of Viipuri Library in Vyborg, Russia.

Designed by Alvar Aalto and constructed between 1927 and 1935 in what was then the Finnish city of Viipuri, the library reflects the emergence of Aalto’s distinctive combination of organic form and materials with the principles of clear functionalist expression that was to become the hallmark of his architecture.

“There are no truths in architecture. !

Architects must take their own position in respect of which architectural doctrine they will fight for and defend”

- Alvar Aalto -